Get Adobe Flash player
Home Digital Broadcasting Digital Broadcasting Technical Standards

Digital Broadcasting Technical Standards

User Rating: / 8

Transmission Standards

i. The digital television transmission standard shall be the DVB-T2 standard to ETSI EN302755 in an 8MHz channel.

ii. The DVB-T2 operating mode, including the choice of system parameters shall be approved by the Authority.

iii. The system parameters shall be selected from the list below:

Carrier Modulation

QPSK, 16-QAM, 64-QAM, 256-QAM, both rotated and non-rotated

Code rate

1/2, 3/5, 2/3, 3/4, 4/5, 5/6


LDPC + BCH 1/2, 3/5, 2/3, 3/4, 4/5, 5/6

Guard Interval

1/4, 19/256, 1/8, 19/128, 1/16, 1/32, 1/128

Transmission Mode

1K, 2K, 4K, 8K normal and extended, 16K normal and extended, 32K normal and extended)

Pilot pattern

PP1, PP2, PP3, PP4, PP5, PP6, PP7, PP8

Input Mode

Mode A (Single PLP) or Mode B (Multiple PLP)

FFT size

1k, 2k, 4k, 8k, 16k, 32k

iv. The following operating modes are approved:

- Normal mode

- Input Mode A (Single PLP)


v. The use of Multiple PLPs (Input Mode B) and the choice of parameters therein shall be approved by the Authority.


vi. The transmitter equipment shall comply with the following technical parameters:

Transmitter power: as per Plan

Transmitter frequency: as per Plan

Frequency tolerance: 500 Hz

2 kHz < 100W pep

5 kHz < 1W pep (V)

10kHz<1W pep (U)

Level of spurious emissions: 60dBc, < 1mW absolute mean power  level for VHF and 12mW for UHF.

Spectrum mask: non-critical

Antenna pattern: as per Plan